Lesley’s Magic Blog
Hi, I’m Lesley. I’m a writer. Join me on my weekly whirl of adventures.

Happy Birthday, Lady! (Gravy)

I just wanted to give a shout-out to my fantasgreat, amazing friend Barbie to wish her an upcoming Happy Birthday!

Barbie is amazing for many reasons, one being that she is a mermaid.

47b7cc37b3127cceb250f689998700000036101aznmlfm2zmx.jpg

Cool, huh?

I credit Barbie with shaping my sense of humor growing up. That said, try as I might, I’ll never have her smooth deadpan delivery and timing. She’s one of those people who has the gift of serving up the line without cracking up halfway through. She makes that look easy. It is not.

And she just knows funny. (Is that cliched? Do I sound like I’m in vaudeville?) Barbie got me watching Late Night With David Letterman when we were kids and later, she got me into Sifl & Olly, both of which are 2 of my all time favorites. It was this great thing. I learned how to spot and respect the sly and the nuanced, but also understood that a David Letterman’s dog driving a car was also really funny, too.

You’ll be seeing more of Barbie on other posts, but for now, Happy Birthday, Lady! I dedicate this Sifl & Olly clip to you!

4 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Lady! (Gravy)”

  1. Happy Birthday to my other daughter, Barbie. You need to appreciate her boundless energy and eye for fashion. Anyone who could elect to play football in high school and take a pounding each week has a sense of humor. Thank you for your friendship to our daughter and your loyalty through the years. Your adventures in Door County and Nantucket are legendary and all I can say is: “Oh my God, I’m supposed to be in Islip”.

  2. Thanks Baby! Even though I’m far from turning the big 1-1 this year, I greatly appreciate the birthday shout out! And to her credit, it was my mom who taught me about knowing the funny. Who else would let their 5 year old stay up until midnight watching SNL? Or is that just shady parenting?
    Anyhow, I wish I was coming out to CA to celebrate the big 3-5, but this snow mermaid is grounded in WI this year.
    I love you!

  3. I love you too, Lady!!!

  4. Vlady wasn’t able to access the reply box, so he wants me to say: “Happy Birthday, Barbie!”


Leave a Reply

