Lesley’s Magic Blog
Hi, I’m Lesley. I’m a writer. Join me on my weekly whirl of adventures.

Date This.

So I’ve joined a couple of online dating services. And no, I haven’t responded to any of the guys who’ve emailed me. Because I’m rude and have a horrible attitude about dating and take forever to do anything.

od_copy.jpg

OK, so now that we’ve established that, I was particularly taken with Jdate.

jdate.gif

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not about dating only Jewish guys. That’s fine if you want to, but me, I’m open to dating all faiths as long as they will watch movies like Space Mutiny with me.

s_65c9bc9a5ff32ac6c2251b47f3907df1.jpg
bridgejpg.jpg

Really, there’s no negatiation about that. Because I have values.

wap_041.gif

But Jdate intrigued me because it was the most feisty and up-front dating site. No winks, no flirts, just straight up grab me by the hair and date me.

It’s like having a Jewish Grandmother on steroids find dates for you. Every five minutes, my email kept yelling messages from my mailbox:

SOMEONE AT JDATE LIKES YOU
SOMEONE AT JDATE LIKES YOU
SOMEONE AT JDATE LIKES YOU

20000305.jpg

But soon, I’m sure I’ll get ones like:

IT WOULD BE NICE IF YOU EMAILED THAT LAWYER BACK. HE TOOK THE TIME TO EMAIL YOU.

22617299.jpg

I THINK HE’S HURT.

22617299.jpg

WHAT’S WRONG NOW? THIS ONE’S A DERMATOLOGIST AND HE LOVES HIS FAMILY. IS THAT A PROBLEM FOR YOU?

22617299.jpg

I THINK YOU MIGHT NEED TO BE A BIT MORE REALISTIC ABOUT WHAT LOVE IS.

22617299.jpg

BECAUSE THERE’S “FANTASY LOVE” AND “REALITY LOVE”. I’M TALKING TO YOU.

22617299.jpg

THERE’S THE “FANTASY” OF WHAT YOU WANT, WHICH ISN’T REAL, AND THEN THERE’S “REALITY”.

22617299.jpg

DO YOU UNDERSTAND THAT DIFFERENCE? BETWEEN “FANTASY” AND “REALITY”? DO YOU, LESLEY?

22617299.jpg

GOOD. NOW EMAIL THAT SALES ACCOUNTANT.

22617299.jpg

Whatever, JDate! How dare you tell me I don’t know reality from fantasy! I’ll date who I want when I’m ready. And I’ll fall in love. And this time, it’ll be real!

And now I present:

MY JDATE WITH SLIM GOODBODY* (*Warning. Not Reality.)slimgoodbody1.jpg

On Jdate, I get a lot of emails from older men. Sometimes, men in their early 50’s. Which got me thinking: “Hey, isn’t that guy who played ‘Slim Goodbody’ in his early 50’s by now? And isn’t he Jewish? And doesn’t it statistically stand to reason that if he were single, he might be on Jdate?”

114006628_af7edbac28.jpg

For those of you who don’t know about Slim Goodbody, he was a TV character from the mid 70’s created and played by a guy named John Burstein. Burstein’s “alter ego” aka “Slim Goodbody”, used to make guest appearances on Captain Kangaroo and teach kids about health. And yes, he wore that body suit with painted internal organs and that afro.

kslgb_1030567200x150.jpg

Now I have no idea if John Burstein is single or not. But no matter. This skit is about me going on a date with the TV character Slim Goodbody.

If I were to go out with Slim Goodbody, I would have most certainly met him on Jdate. I’m guessing we’d go for dinner. Maybe somewhere wholesome, like Marie Callender’s.

img_company.jpg

So let’s see how that would pan out:

dscn7068_1.jpg
ME: Well, it sure is great to meet you in person Mr….Uh… Goodbody. I grew up watching you on TV.

kwwws_1030491200x150.jpg

SLIM GOODBODY: Please, call me Slim. It’s sure neat to meet you! I see you brought your “Thanks” rock along.

dscn7068_1.jpg

ME: Yeah, and apparently I also brought my lamp. And hairspray for my flat hair.

kwwws_1030491200x150.jpg

SLIM GOODBODY: My hair never gets flat. It’s full of nutrients and energy!

dscn7068_1.jpg

ME: Um, great! I see you brought your pillow.

kwwws_1030491200x150.jpg

SLIM GOODBODY: Oh, yeah, it’s great joint support. That sure does look like a healthy meal. It satisfies the food pyramid of nutrition. Fruit, vegetables, dairy, grains! I find that attractive.

dscn7068_1.jpg

ME: Yeah, um, thanks. It’s a big…big salad. So are you still working in TV-

kwwws_1030491200x150.jpg

SLIM GOODBODY: Your skin and teeth are healthy and shiny. And your hips are wide and strong! That’s good for the future!

dscn7068_1.jpg

ME: The future.

kwwws_1030491200x150.jpg

SLIM GOODBODY: Yeah! And I think it’s great that you decided to get out and date before your body gets much older than it already is!

dscn7068_1.jpg

ME: Wait….I’m sorry…what?

kwwws_1030491200x150.jpg

SLIM GOODBODY: I’ll explain. As the female body ages, it begins to sag and the organs become less vibrant. Not to mention a dropping uterus. Good nutrition will help. But not forever! So good for you getting out there while you’re still relatively fresh on the outside and the inside!

dscn7068_1.jpg

ME: Um..Ok. Wow. Well, it’s official. I’m sick.

kwwws_1030491200x150.jpg

SLIM GOODBODY: Oh, no! Let’s sweat it out. Let’s do some jumping jacks!

dscn7068_1.jpg

ME: You know what? I’ll pass. After I eat a food pyramid and listen to a guy in a unitard talk about my sagging uterus, I tend to get the bends. So no, I don’t want to stand up and do jumping jacks with you.

kwwws_1030491200x150.jpg

SLIM GOODBODY: Oh, we won’t do them standing up.

dscn7068_1.jpg

ME: Awesome. I’m just going to leave this twenty here. That covers the salad. It was great to meet you and I have to go sweep some shattered childhood memories into a dustbin, now.

kwwws_1030491200x150.jpg

SLIM GOODBODY: See ya next time when we discuss hygiene!

dscn7068_1.jpg

ME: You bet. You just keep sitting here waiting.

kwwws_1030491200x150.jpg

SLIM GOODBODY: Don’t forget to drink 120 fluid ounces of water a day! And eat lean meats! Hey…I don’t have your number.

dscn7068_1.jpg

ME: Ok, so bye! Talk soon!

kwwws_1030491200x150.jpg

SLIM GOODBODY: Well, ribcage, looks like it’s just you and me tonight. Check, please!

END SCENE

I think we all saw that coming didn’t we?

Don’t worry, I won’t give up on Jdate yet. Who knows what other great Jewish TV characters are out there for me. In the meantime, I’ll give Richard Simmons a call and just go out dancing. See ya.

richardsimmons1.jpg

3 Responses to “Date This.

  1. Could you please at least construct a letter to Richard Simmons to tell him you two should go on a date so we can at least see what sort of crazy, Dancing to the Oldies-inspired response you get. I imagine it may be some sort of singing telegram that shows up at your door, with a guy dressed like a big broccoli stalk who tells you–politely, through song–that you should stick to contemporary stars as opposed to wasting your time on has-beens. Now, how *would* that song go….?

  2. Well, Richard Simmons is a nice Catholic boy, so that’s probably why you didn’t see his profile on JDate, well, that’s one of many reasons…but I agree with Mikel, please write him a letter, just to see the awesome response.

  3. Wow, who knew JDate could give out that much guilt? It’s too bad they don’t do man-on-man JDate, ’cause I’d certainly like to date a nice Jewish boy. Have your grandmother call me, would ya?


Leave a comment