Lesley’s Magic Blog
Hi, I’m Lesley. I’m a writer. Join me on my weekly whirl of adventures.

Springtime Snowstorm. TM

Last week I was in Wisconsin again for a visit. I was supposed to leave on March 21st. But then there was this MASSIVE SNOWSTORM on March 21st. People warned me to change my flight the day before, when it was 40 degrees and sunny. I had thought: “Oh, come on, how bad could it be? A few inches? Right?”.

Yeah. I think this YouTube clip I found posted on March 21, 2008 from Wisconsin sums it up.

Now imagine that plowed road instantly covered with snow again and you’ve got the gist.

Since my flight was cancelled, I only returned to LA a mere 4 days ago and I’ve been sleeping ever since. Apparently I’m so delicate from living in LA weather for over a decade that all I’m made of now is gossamer and dust.

I went for a drive, just to ease myself back into LA life. I drove through Laurel Canyon, which was beautiful and smelled nice.

100812.jpg

100803.jpg

Then I drove back to Hollywood Boulevard, where I saw a 50-something Marilyn Monroe walking down the street next to a paunchy, rough-trade Indiana Jones with a missing tooth.

Sorry, no photo for that. Draw a picture and send it to me if you want!

Geez. And that’s all I really have for you guys. Yeah, back with possibly something better next time.

One Response to “Springtime Snowstorm. TM”

  1. Wow, that Flirts video. I had never seen it. Of course I know their smash hit, “Don’t Put Another Dime In The Jukebox,” but I’d some how missed “Danger.” The lyrics, they’re so… deep. And original.

    I get a VERY clear picture of the ’80s from this video. Now that music video is essentially dead, how will scholars and social scientists 30 years from now reconstruct our society?


Leave a Reply

